Seriously….?

I don’t know if you folks have heard about “The Marriage Vow” pledge, but it’s a socially conservative document that has recently been signed by Republican presidential candidates Michele Bachmann and Rick Santorum. The pledge, created by the Iowa organization, the Family Leader, has been the subject of some controversy due to its assertions that homosexuality is not innate and that “a child born into slavery in 1860 was more likely to be raised by his mother and father in a two-parent household than was an African-American baby born after the election of the USA’s first African-American President.”

The full text of the Marriage Vow can be read here:
 http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/under-god/post/read-the-marriage-vow-pledge-signed-by-michele-bachmann-and-rick-santorum/2011/07/08/gIQAwT7K4H_blog.html

It personally frustrates me that people are still so ignorant and intolerant and bent on making controversial and inflammatory statements seemingly for the sake of pissing others off. I would ramble on about my own personal view on marriage, but I’m annoyed enough at the moment that I’d probably sound like “an ignorant and inflammatory liberal,” so I’ll refrain.

But I AM interested in knowing what you guys think about marriage….

Time magazine also recently ran an issue that gave much coverage to the idea of the “modern marriage.” The article has some noteworthy statistics and makes some points I found interesting. Read it here:  http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,2032116,00.html

About evajge

A friend once told me that all I eat is chocolate and cheese. I was both disturbed and amused to realize that he was right.
This entry was posted in Current events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

