Fibers

This past week in CHEM 3020, we’ve been doing an Optical Microscopy lab, looking at fibers. It was actually pretty cool to look at various fibers (cotton, linen, nylon, fiberglass, etc.) under the microscope through different polarizers. I could go into the science of it, but I’m sure I’d bore you all to death and probably lose any readers I might have. So instead I’ll show you two pictures of some samples that I looked at today:

Cotton fibers at 100x magnification through two perpendicular polarizers and a compensator.

Nylon fibers at 400x magnification through two perpendicular polarizers.

About evajge

A friend once told me that all I eat is chocolate and cheese. I was both disturbed and amused to realize that he was right.
This entry was posted in Ithaca/Cornell, Personal, Science and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fibers

  1. Pingback: It’s kaleidoscopic | chocolatepluscheese

Leave a Reply

