Is it too early to be nostalgic?

I mean, I’m not even 20 yet. And I definitely grew up in a weird household (we didn’t even have TV!). But there are certain things that just remind me of my childhood, and I feel…. well, nostalgic.

  • Book series. Brian Jacques’ Redwall series, the Artemis Fowl series, JK Rowling’s Harry Potter series, TA Barron’s The Lost Years of Merlin series.  I think the Redwall series is what made me fall in love with reading. My parents used to be so happy that I wanted to read books that were more than 100 pages long and didn’t have pictures. But they were good, really good. My friends and I would go to our elementary school librarian and check out the books as soon as the library got new copies of the books as they were released. And of course there’s the Harry Potter craze. I went to at least 2 midnight book releases, and my brother and I would always argue about who would get to read the new books first.
  • MASH (mansion apartment shack house). Where you’d fold up a sheet of paper and list things in various categories. You’d get a random number by telling someone to “stop” as they drew tick marks (or circles of a spiral) and then that’d determine your future lodging, spouse, car, number of kids, pets, etc.
  • Now that’s what I call music! albums. Apparently they’re still making these albums, but it’s just not the same. Now That’s What I Call Music! 4, released in July 2000, featured classics such as “Larger Than Life” by the Backstreet Boys, “(You Drive Me) Crazy” by Britney Spears, and “All the Small Things” by Blink-182. When’s the last time you heard Blink-182 on the radio?
  • Playing dodgeball in gym class. Dodgeball was the most fun part of gym class before it was banned sometime when I was in middle school. I’m not entirely sure why it was banned because we only ever played with foam balls, and people very rarely got hurt (no more often than when playing basketball or football for sure). But that didn’t really stop the gym teachers from letting us play it. They just called it “practice throwing” instead.
  • Learning cursive.  I find it sad that kids are no longer learning cursive in school. I had (and still have) good handwriting and was particularly proud of my cursive – cursive is pretty! But more importantly, a number of important historical documents (such as the Declaration of Independence) are written in cursive. And practically, signature are in cursive. How do you sign legal documents if you can only print?
About evajge

A friend once told me that all I eat is chocolate and cheese. I was both disturbed and amused to realize that he was right.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

