Today, I’ll let others do the writing

When I was younger, you could convince me of anything. If you could string together a semi-logical argument, then you had me; you controlled what I believed in, who I believed in, what was more important and more deserving, why things were the way they were…

I’m glad to say since then I’ve acquired a healthy dose of skepticism. I know that things aren’t so just because someone says they’re so; usually there are two sides to every argument. However, my favorite section of most papers is still the Opinion page. I find there to be few things as satisfying as reading an interesting and/or well-written argument, whether I ultimately agree or disagree.

So, I share with you, Time magazine’s, “The Top 10 Opinions of 2011”
http://ideas.time.com/2011/12/27/top-10-opinions-of-2011

The opinions are:

  1. “Why You’re Not Married” by Tracy McMillan
  2. “If I Were A Poor Black Kid” by Gene Marks
  3. “Climate of Hate” by Paul Krugman
  4. “Dodd-Frank Fails to Meet Test of Our Times” by Alan Greenspan
  5. “Why Chinese Mothers are Superior” by Amy Chua
  6. “For President, Newt Gingrich” by Joseph W. McQuaid
  7. “In Favor of Dirty Jokes and Risque Remarks” by Katie Rolphe
  8. “Stop Coddling the Super-Rich” by Warren Buffet
  9. “The Shame of College Sports” by Taylor Branch
  10. “We’re in a Bubble and It’s Not the Internet. It’s Higher Education” by Peter Thiel

 

About evajge

A friend once told me that all I eat is chocolate and cheese. I was both disturbed and amused to realize that he was right.
This entry was posted in Current events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

