Why we run

I just finished watching Chungking Express (1994). I found it to be fairly consistent in style to past Wong Kar-wai films I’ve seen, and it included another one of those poetic lines I’ve come to appreciate and almost expect.

Chungking Express is split into two parts and tells the stories of two men, both cops, who have been dumped by their girlfriends. The first cop, He Zhiwu, copes with his heartbreak by buying cans of pineapple with the same expiration date (May 1st, exactly one month after his girlfriend dumped him), and by going jogging. He explains the jogging with this quote:

“We’re all unlucky in love sometimes. When I am, I go jogging. The body loses water when you jog, so you have none left for tears.”

Maybe the next time I feel like crying I’ll just go for a jog instead.

“Do you like pineapple?” he asks the strange woman at the bar.

About evajge

A friend once told me that all I eat is chocolate and cheese. I was both disturbed and amused to realize that he was right.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

