Election 2012 adventures

7:50am: Double check that I have photo ID before leaving my apartment.

8:45am: Browsing Facebook. Share a photo on mayor Svante Myrick’s Facebook timeline showing the different polling spots around Cornell campus. Read some election-themed Facebook statuses.

10:03am: Get a text from a friend who lives in Long Island telling me that because of the storm she can vote in Tompkins County. She asks when I plan on going to vote.

12:30pm: Leave Baker Lab with two fellow chemistry people, headed to RPCC to vote!

12:40pm: Find out that I’m not registered to vote at that polling station. Realize that I probably registered under my parents’ home address which is in the Town of Ithaca rather than the City of Ithaca. Disappointed.

1:20pm: Go back to Baker Lab and go to canivote.gov to see where my actual polling place is.

5:40pm: Get picked up by my mom to go Hasbrouck Apartments (my actual polling place) where we both cast our votes.

5:42pm: Receive an “I VOTED” sticker :)

9:30pm: Compulsively refreshing news websites as votes are being counted.

Throughout the day: Listen to and participate in election-related conversations. Express general excitement/apprehension.

About evajge

A friend once told me that all I eat is chocolate and cheese. I was both disturbed and amused to realize that he was right.
This entry was posted in Current events and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

