On Repeat

I became obsessed with Lissie from the first song I heard, a live cover of Kid Cudi’s song Pursuit of Happiness. The original song isn’t bad, but something about the way she sang it just made it better. I downloaded it and played it on repeat for about a month until I got sick of it, and then played it some more.

For some reason, I didn’t immediately check to see if she had an album or any more songs. Maybe it was one of those moments when something is so perfect, you worry that going any deeper will spoil the original appeal. More than a year later, I discovered that she had an equally kick-ass cover of Fleetwood Mac’s song Go Your Own Way, as well as an original album, Catching a Tiger, that could boast a couple catchy tunes of its own (my personal favorites are Record Collector and In Sleep).

Just this week, Lissie released her second album, Back to Forever. I’ve since downloaded it and have been looping it on repeat. Some of the songs I’ve played so many times, I’ve learned all the lyrics by heart and barely hear them. It’s an accelerated process of listening to your favorite album so many times you get sick of it. Again, I have some favorite songs: They All Want You, Mountaintop Removal, I Bet on You.

About evajge

A friend once told me that all I eat is chocolate and cheese. I was both disturbed and amused to realize that he was right.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

