Write something worth a damn

My favorite writers are Oscar Wilde, J.D. Salinger, and Fydor Dostoyevsky, not necessarily in that order. I love Dostoyevsky for his incredible stories, but I love Wilde and Salinger, because regardless of their subject material, they can make me “give a damn.”

I spend a lot of time thinking about how to write these blog posts. I want to write things that are interesting and relevant to other people, without giving away too much of myself (I live in constant terror of being truly understood, and therefore irrelevant). But most importantly, I want to write something worth a damn.

I may be drunk and more than a little bit sloppy right now, but I want to leave you with this quote from a Medium post:

“Write something worth a damn. Write something that requires you to tear a chunk of your soul away and leave it dripping, bloody, on the page. For my amusement, or your amusement, or her’s. Put something of yourself into the process. Get some skin in the game. If you don’t, you might as well be writing press releases. Life is too short, and the opportunity afforded us by this marvelous community and platform is too good to squander it on typological masturbation. Fuck me with your stories. Please.”

About evajge

A friend once told me that all I eat is chocolate and cheese. I was both disturbed and amused to realize that he was right.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Write something worth a damn

  1. Gary Rogers says:

    Don’t get so hung up on the word fucking. Also: https://medium.com/human-parts/5d347c81a40d

    • evajge says:

      Well, in the particular post, I think use of the word “fucking” was effective.

      In response to your Medium post: While I agree that writing anything is better than not writing, I don’t think that you should publish anything and everything just because you can. (Perhaps this post isn’t the best example. I almost deleted it, but then saw your comment, appreciated it, and appreciated the chance to respond). There’s nothing wrong with only publishing a small fraction of what you write. If you’re writing for yourself, well then it should be enough to have written. If you’re writing for others, don’t subject them to crappy writing if you don’t have to. While writing crap might not get you many disapproving stares, neither will you get any approving ones. And really, the internet already has enough crap to sift through as it is. It can be hard to find good writing and it doesn’t need to get any harder.

  2. Hey there! I just want to offer you a huge thumbs up for the excellent info you have
    got here on this post. I am returning to your website for more soon.

Leave a Reply

